Goodwill Industries of Central North Carolina Blog


A Goodwill Success Story by Triad Goodwill

From time to time, Triad Goodwill will highlight someone who has achieved employment success, thanks to Goodwill.

Read Sheila Burwell’s Success Story below…

I relocated from Lynchburg, Virginia on January 5, 2012, because I fell in love with the area. I didn’t know anyone and walked around the city and found Goodwill Industries Greensboro Community Resource Center. The first thing that caught my attention was the receptionist sign, ‘First Impression Receptionist.’ I felt I was in the right place. I was encouraged to attend the numerous free programs it offered to get established in my new residence. I participated in the Money Smart class and learned how to budget, what bills I should pay first and overall financial management once I start receiving an income.  The Criminal Background class taught me to put a positive spin on a bad situation. The job search assistance was also very motivational in helping me begin to go online to complete applications.

Today, I am employed as a Security Guard and working for a company that gave me a chance to move forward regardless of my history.

Thank you Goodwill Industries for your encouragement and support of my future!

Sincerely,

Sheila Burwell

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

